top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlice N

Hellys International Guitar Festival

Being there since its launch, 2019 will be my third year working for this wonderfully inclusive event held in Helston, Cornwall. Hellys brings together guitar enthusiasts from far and near, putting everyone on one level - from amateurs to professionals, maestri to youngsters.



I was asked in 2017 by festival director, Ben Salfield to photograph the festival. I quickly found that one does not simply 'photograph a festival', the job entails so much more than I had anticipated. I found myself in charge of the festival's online presence, updating the official Facebook and Instagram pages in real-time, whilst taking a photo of a conversation between a maestro from somewhere exotic and a local talent, all the while helping the festival organisers keep their cool as the excitement elevated. It seems my laid back chill is a positive attribute to have in stressful situations. (It's part of being Cornish). Thus, I was asked back again in 2018.


"Alice Nightingale has an amazing ability to get just what it is I'm looking for every time. Her work for us helped move Hellys International Guitar Festival onto a whole new level"

- Ben Salfield, Musical Director



After graduating from University I put my name forward for this years graphic designer, and here I am, designing this year's flyers, posters, programmes, and VIP passes.



Watch this space!


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page